Harry Kane has not played since getting injured against Manchester City in the Champions League on 9 April

Tottenham striker Harry Kane is one of nine Champions League finalists named in England’s initial 27-man squad for the inaugural Nations League finals despite his fitness being “an unknown”.

Kane has not played since injuring his left ankle in the first leg of Spurs’ Champions League quarter-final victory over Manchester City on 9 April.

“He’s working to be fit for the [Champions League] final,” said manager Gareth Southgate.

“We are keeping that door open.”

He added: “That’s one of the unknowns. We are going to look post-Champions League final.”

Chelsea midfielder Ruben Loftus-Cheek misses out after injuring his ankle in a friendly in the US on Wednesday.

His Blues team-mate Callum Hudson-Odoi is also out injured.

England play their Nations League semi-final against the Netherlands on 6 June in Portugal, just five days after the Champions League showpiece between Liverpool and Spurs.

Kane is named alongside five Spurs team-mates, including Harry Winks who has undergone groin surgery, with three Liverpool players also included.

One-cap international Nathan Redmond is a surprise selection after an impressive end to the season which saw him end the campaign as the club’s top marksman with nine goals.

Leicester’s Ben Chilwell and Tottenham’s Danny Rose are preferred to Manchester United’s Luke Shaw at left-back.

Southgate will need to reduce his squad down to 23 players by 27 May.

Should England beat the Netherlands, they will face either Portugal or Switzerland in the competition’s first final on 9 June in Porto.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Nathan Redmond (Southampton), Declan Rice (West Ham United), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)

Strikers: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (AFC Bournemouth)

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here